Palo Alto Office - by appt only
3000 El Camino Real, Building 4 

Palo Alto, CA 94306
(888) 791-0033

Disclaimer:  The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult with an attorney regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us or schedule a consultation through our online scheduling system. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information until we have established an attorney-client relationship.

Redwood Shores - Main Office
303 Twin Dolphin Drive, 6th Floor
Redwood City, CA 94065
(650) 331-3475

San Jose Office - by appt only
1100 Lincoln Avenue, Suite 239

San Jose, CA 95125
(408) 834-7478

What is a Certified Family Law Specialist?

The State Bar of California’s Board of Legal Specialization grants a special certification status to qualified lawyers in the practice of family law with at least 5 years of experience.  Certified Family Law Specialists must have proven expertise in all areas of California family law, including divorce, annulment, property division, child custody and visitation, child support, spousal support, domestic violence, tax consequences of divorce, and more.

The Standards for Certification: A Closer Look

Certified Family Law Specialists must have successfully completed a written examination in their specialty field.  This test is often thought of as a one-day “mini bar” exam covering only family law.  They must also demonstrate substantial experience in their field, such as having participated in a minimum number of trials, hearings, settlements, stipulations, and mediations.  In addition to these requisites, Certified Family Law Specialists must also be positively reviewed by other attorneys and judges who are familiar with their work.  Attorneys who apply to be certified specialists must complete over 45 hours of compulsory continuing family law education over a three-year period, as opposed to the 25 hours required by non-specialist lawyers.  .

The State Bar of California’s Board of Legal Specialization has made the arduous task of choosing a lawyer a much simpler process, by requiring specialists to adhere to superior standards of excellence, experience, and education.  By selecting a Certified Family Law Specialist, you are guaranteed a better trained, more qualified attorney to represent you in difficult and delicate family situations.

Certified Family Law Specialist must prove significant, actual experience in the following areas:

  • Restraining orders/domestic violence proceedings
  • Dissolution of marriage, legal separation, or nullity of marriage litigation
  • Child custody/visitation
  • Child / Spousal support establishment / enforcement / modification
  • Assets and debt division / Confirmation of separate property
  • Taxation issues incident to dissolution of marriage
  • Contempt and/or enforcement proceedings
  • Mediation and/or negotiation of family law disputes
  • Psychological and counseling aspects of dissolution of marriage

Bay Area Divorces © 2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED